Skip to content

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes

July 17, 2010

“If you don’t like something change it; if you can’t change it, change the way you think about it.” ~Mary Engelbreit.

For years, I have had an opinion about something.  I clung to that opinion with all of my being because I was right.  I was fairly well educated  about the topic about which I had formed an opinion. But I refused to see things from a slightly different angle.  You know how when you look through a kaleidoscope and you tilt it some, you see a totally different image?  Well that’s what has happened to me. Someone tilted my kaleidoscope.

You see I was convinced that Thing X was just not right.  Someone had tried to tell me that a different image was possible, but because I was right, there couldn’t possibly be another image in my kaleidoscope.  But then I started reading things from people who knew the new image was possible. (Damn, that love of reading I have!)  They had seen the image themselves. And more importantly, God told me that the image was possible.

Photo by Ice and Snow

Then I blew Someone’s mind:  I told that certain someone that perhaps they were right.  I didn’t want to tell them, of course, because..well, I was right.  After telling them, I suddenly felt as though I had lifted a small barrier from between us and things were going to be different from now on.

And in keeping with my nature, I had to keep on reading about Thing X because I found it fascinating.  Shockingly, last night, I saw something in the kaleidoscope image that I hadn’t seen before – even when I was telling this person that they were right I was denying that this aspect of the image was possible.

Perhaps there is some aspect of a situation you aren’t seeing.  Tilt the kaleidoscope a bit and re-evaluate it – you never know what you will see.

PS – Someone, again, you were right.  Just wait till I tell you  about the aspect of the image I saw!  It’ll blow your mind.

Photo by GetNikki

Changes
David Bowie

I still don’t know what I was waiting for
And my time was running wild
A million dead-end streets
Every time I thought I’d got it made
It seemed the taste was not so sweet
So I turned myself to face me
But I’ve never caught a glimpse
Of how the others must see the faker
I’m much too fast to take that test

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Don’t want to be a richer man
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Just gonna have to be a different man
Time may change me
But I can’t trace time

I watch the ripples change their size
But never leave the stream
Of warm impermanence and
So the days float through my eyes
But still the days seem the same
And these children that you spit on
As they try to change their worlds
Are immune to your consultations
They’re quite aware of what they’re going through

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Don’t tell t hem to grow up and out of it
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Where’s your shame
You’ve left us up to our necks in it
Time may change me
But you can’t trace time

Strange fascination, fascinating me
Changes are taking the pace I’m going through

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Oh, look out you rock ‘n rollers
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Pretty soon you’re gonna get a little older
Time may change me
But I can’t trace time
I said that time may change me
But I can’t trace time



2 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet permalink
    July 17, 2010 2:14 pm

    I one who has frequently been “unrighted,” I can soooo relate!

  2. July 17, 2010 2:16 pm

    It’s hard being “unrighted” but usually works out for the best.

Leave a Reply

