Skip to content

Funeral Plans?

July 15, 2010

I plan my funeral.  How bizarre is that?

I used to sit and dream up this part and that part of it.  Then I found a website called My Wonderful Life and they have templates for funeral planning and suggestions for your funeral and a place to store it all online.  How cool for a freak like me. Now I can keep track of all my plans!

Do you ever wonder what people are going to say at your funeral – or even if people will come?  I do.  Mostly my family though. I’m not really that close to my family.  I know they would be upset if I died, but could they speak about me at my funeral?  They don’t really know me anymore.  That’s pretty sad, isn’t it?

What about your friends ?  Which of them are close enough friends to take time off work to come see you for one last time?

What if I have planned out this whole funeral and no one sticks to my plans? It’s not like I am going to come back to earth and haunt someone who didn’t get the right flowers.    But I would like the general idea of my funeral to be adhered to.   How do you know the people you entrust your plans to will follow them out?

See, I told you I obsess over it.

While you ponder your own funeral, I will leave you with my playlist for my funeral:

  • Love You Till the End , The Pogues

What would be on your playlist?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 10:29 pm

    P and I have planned our funerals and soon we are getting our wills made up. It’s slightly morbid and depressing but also quite liberating. Plus we want to make sure lil is taken care of if anything happens. My funeral will probably be weird for my parents because they don’t how much i love weird stuff.

  2. July 16, 2010 9:03 am

    I know most people probably DO find it morbid but you are right, its liberating.

    Ahhh I will feel right at home at your funeral. Just don’t make it too soon please.

  3. Janet permalink
    July 16, 2010 12:01 pm

    Held and Hurt are on mine, too! Also, Only Hope by Caedmon’s Call; Never Been Unloved, Michael W. Smith; He Went to Paris, Jimmy Buffett; Life in One Day, Howard Jones; The River, Garth Brooks; Ring of Fire, Johnny Cash; Sing Me Back Home, Merle Haggard; Blue Ridge Mountains Turning Green, by any decent bluegrass singer; I Hope You Dance, Leeanne Womack; This is Radio Clash, The Clash; Roland, the Headless Thompson Gunner, Warren Zevon; Sunday, Bloody Sunday and/or Pride (In the Name of Love), U2.

    I hope we’re here for a long while yet, though!

Leave a Reply

