Skip to content

Lightening Crashes

July 12, 2010

I visited Plinky again this morning for inspiration for my blog.  I didn’t need to go there. I already had the inspiration, I just had filed it away in the back of my head for “one day” use. 

The topic was “If you could go back and relive one day of your life, which one would it be? And why?”  And it just so happens that a few weeks ago, I wanted to blog about the day I would relive.

See my answer is easy: the day Abby was born.  Why?  Because my memory is so bad I don’t always remember everything.  I want to remember every detail so I can share it with her one day. 

Recently, I have been reading this chick’s blog and she is sharing her three children’s birth stories and I kept thinking “Wow, if I could remember all the details about Abby’s birth, I would blog about that.”  Then I got this prompt today and I realized, I don’t really have to have all the details. I can blog what I remember and have that to give to her.

So…..

On June 21, 1995 I went into the hospital a scared pregnant girl and came out four days later a mother – still scared, of course!  I had been going to the hospital for days for an induction procedure.  That didn’t work.  So the doctor admitted me to the hospital so he could try something else to help Abby  come along.  Abby, in Abby style, took her sweet time.

Knowing that I wouldn’t eat in the hospital, my mom was kind enough to fix a huge Taco Salad for me for dinner the evening before I was to go in the hospital.  We spent that evening watching movies, but for the life of me, I can’t think of what a single one was.  I want to say Christian Slater was in one of them but there is no way of knowing for sure.

I made it into the hospital and got signed in, no problem.  The room was a birthing room instead of a delivery room. It’s my understanding birthing rooms are  common now but then, it was a big deal to have a birthing room.  As soon as I was settled in the room, the nurses started an IV of Pitocin to help speed things up (by this point, I was already two weeks overdue). 

I’ll be honest, there isn’t a whole lot to tell about the next couple of days: I spent them lying in bed or walking the halls of the hospital hoping to bring on some labor.  I was having contractions the whole time, but nothing really bad.  My mom did a lot of talking to try and calm me down – I was a nervous wreck and incredibly excited all at the same time.  The TV was on 24/7 – mainly because my little brother was at the hospital and needed entertaining – and I remember a childhood friend was in the news for murdering someone.  My brother played a few mean hands of gin rummy with me to pass the time away. I didn’t pick up a book the whole time – probably the longest I have ever gone. 🙂

The day of the 24th, the doctor came in at some point (on his way to go golfing – no joke) and told me to get ready for a C-section at 6AM the next morning. My best friend, Kristy, and her mom came for a visit, followed by my grandmother.  My mom walked my grandmother to the car finally (everyone coming in and oohing and ahhing over you can get old) and I got up to head to the bathroom, pulling my IV along behind me when BAM! A gushing came out from between my legs that I couldn’t stop.  I really thought I was just peeing.  I stood there for a couple of minutes and the nurse came in and said, “Oh honey! Let’s get you to bed.”  Why I couldn’t have stayed up, I don’t know.

The next few hours passed in a blur.  I was in hard core labor for 7 hours.  The contractions were coming hard and fast by this point – before they were just minor hiccups compared to this. This was the real deal.  I remember cussing like I have never cussed, hitting my mother, telling her I hated her and of course, cussing Abby’s dad like there was no tomorrow.  I assume most women have something nasty to say to the fathers of their children long about this point (except for those saintly ones who keep it all in) but I know I gave him an extra double dose of cussing since he wasn’t around during all this. After a few hours, nothing was happening.  I heard whispers and mutters from the nurses.  If things didn’t speed up, I might be on the operating table come morning. 

But, like I said, Abby does things on her own time table.  She was finally born on June 24, 1995 at 8:32 PM after all the pushing and grunting – details of which I will spare you.  She was born to the song, “Lightening Crashes” by Live.  Pretty appropriate, I think.  She was a perfect 21 inches long (she was destined to tower over me), 8 lbs. 10 oz.  (big baby!!) and had all ten fingers and toes.  Perfect!

Now you see why I wouild relive the day over: so many details are missing!  I know, a lot of them are omitted for all you squeamish people and, honestly, who wants to read all the details of a birth story? Maybe I should have filled in one of those baby books I had on hand (one Peter Rabbit and one…. oh heck, I don’t remember!)  that to this day are big empty white pages.

Maybe one day, God will bless me with sudden clarity of the day.  He has done it before.  Why not now?

I will leave you with words to Abby’s song. 

“Lightning Crashes” by Live

lightning crashes, a new mother cries
her placenta falls to the floor
the angel opens her eyes
the confusion sets in
before the doctor can even close the door

lightning crashes, an old mother dies
her intentions fall to the floor
the angel closes her eyes
the confusion that was hers
belongs now, to the baby down the hall

oh now feel it comin’ back again
like a rollin’ thunder chasing the wind
forces pullin’ from the center of the earth again
I can feel it.

lightning crashes, a new mother cries
this moment she’s been waiting for
the angel opens her eyes
pale blue colored iris,
presents the circle
and puts the glory out to hide, hide

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jonie permalink
    July 15, 2010 9:43 pm

    That is one of my favorite songs, ever! It especially has a lot of meaning since loosing my mother last year after years of illnesses. I love the feeling that song gives as well as it’s meaning!

    What lovely girls! See ya around THL! 🙂

Leave a Reply

