Skip to content

Facebook Made Me Miss Haiti More Today

July 4, 2010
tags:

I read a status on Facebook that made me miss Haiti today.  Kinda odd, I thought.  Not that I need Facebook to miss Haiti, just that reading a status update could take me back so easily.  It’s been four months, ya know?  The update was from a pastor at another church who just returned from Haiti on Independence Day (or perhaps he wrote it last night and I was just reading it today?) and was really appreciating the USA a bit more today.  And it made me miss Haiti just a bit more today.

See, I miss Haiti almost every day.  But I don’t talk about it. Or show it.  Because that’s crazy.  How can you miss a place that has no showers or toilets?  Not to mention sufficient food?  Safe drinking water? How do you miss a  place like that?  But I want to go back so bad I can taste it.  But I don’t talk about it. Because that’s crazy.

But I thought about Haiti again today. A lot.  And the children of Haiti.  And their smiles. And their eyes.

Happy Independence Day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 4, 2010 4:37 pm

    I love your heart baby. Maybe we can go back soon. Maybe God will let us.

Leave a Reply

