Skip to content

Interview with My Youngest Step Daughter, Emily, Age…Errrr…8.99.9%

July 1, 2010

Emily turns 9 tomorrow.  She is my youngest step daughter. You could probably figure that out if you read my blog title.  I was sitting here and had this great desire to write something, but wasn’t quite sure what to write.  Emily was talking and I was thinking, “Wow. I really like talking to Emily.” Because I do.  She’s smart.  And funny.  And super cool.  She has this great personality.  When she grows up, she is gonna be one of those people that rock stars hire to learn attitude from.  Yeah, she’s got it whatever it is.  So I decided I was going to conduct an interview with Emily on the eve of her ninth birthday.  So here it goes:

Me:  Hi Emily!  Do you know what time of the day you were born?

Emily: 5ish my mom said this morning, because I was asking her that.

Me:  5ish in the morning or in the evening?

Emily: Evening.  That’s what she said. I think at least.

Me: Ok.  Cool.  Do you remember anything from that night?

Emily: What night?

Me: The night you were born.

Emily: No.  *giggle*

Me: Oh ok.  *snicker* I was just being silly.  But you knew that right?  So what is one thing you want to accomplish this year now that you are nine?

Emily: Art.  Well, no, because that’s really hard.

Me: Dream big kiddo.  Your nine now. Seriously, why should you not try it just because you think its hard.

Emily: I dont know

Me: Do you know any famous artists?

Emily: No

Me: Have you ever heard of Van Gough?

Emily: The name is kinda familiar….

Me: He was a famous painter. He painted Starry Night.  What about Matt Groening?

Emily: No.

Me: He created The Simpsons.

Me: Do you think either one of them said Art is too hard?

Emily: No.

Me: Then why would Little Miss Emily?

Emily: I dont know

Me: How about we make a deal? For your ninth birthday year, I will try one thing that I think is too hard and you try one thing you think is too hard like art?

Emily: Ok.

Me: Do you not even want to know what my one thing is?

Emily: I do.

Me: You want to know or you do as in you already know?

Emily: I want to know.

Me: Ahhh.  Well I dont really know what it would be yet. I have a few to choose from. *giggle*

Emily: What?

Me: Ummm you want me to list them all?

Emily: No just a c ouple.

Me: OH ok.  Umm.. *embarrassed giggle*  Learning a foreign language.  Reading biographies.   Controlling my internet usage.  Ok that’s three is that enough?

Emily: Yes.

Me: Which one should I work on?

Emily: All three.

Me: Hmmm how did I know you were gonna say that. Ok. I will do all three and you will try art?  I will find you that online class we found before and you will do it?

Emily: I guess.

Me: OK Deal?

Emily: Deal.

Me: OK.  What’s the best thing that has happened to you in nine years?

Emily: I don’t know.

Me: Ok what’s the best five things that have happened to you in nine years.

Emily: I don’t know.

Me: Ok.  Where’s the best five places you have been in five years.

Emily: I don’t know.

Me: Hmmm this interview isn’t going very well.  Why don’t you ask me a question.

Emily: How many times have you dyed your hair?

Me: Oh…. probably in excess of 100 times.

*shocked look from Emily*

Emily: What is your favorite thing to do?

Me: Hang out with my family.  Kinda cheesy huh?

Emily: No.

Me:  Oh, and I like to read, of course!  And cook!

Emily: And take naps. And play on the computer. And go to the library.  And do this and do that…

Me: Back to my turn now… What is your favorite thing about being home schooled?

Emily: Just being home for school.

Me: Do you wish you weren’t the baby?

Emily: No.

Me: Why?

Emily: The Adults treat you good sometimes.

*at this point Emily indicates she is ready to end the interview*

Me:  Ok.  We can end it there.  Thank you for taking the time to talk to me today, Emily.

I hope you have a fantabulous birthday.  I hope your ninth year is wonderful and very kind to you.  I hope that lots of wonderful memories are made in the next year.  I hope that many friends are met…

*and from the strange look I was getting, I decided to end the cheese fest there and completely end my interview*

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Katrina permalink
    July 2, 2010 8:38 am

    I just finished a good memoir by Joyce Maynard. She was JD Salinger’s girlfriend for about a year in the 70’s and she’s written a ton of stuff too.

  2. Katrina permalink
    July 15, 2010 11:14 am

    She was 18, he was 53. Yes, it was very good. Remember the movie “To Die For” w/ Nicole Kidman? Joyce wrote the book and helped w/ that screenplay. I need to find some more of her stuff to read. She just adopted 2 little girls (she’s 57 now) from Africa…pretty impressive lady.

Leave a Reply

