Skip to content

MY Summer Reading List

June 10, 2010
tags: ,

I posted the kiddos’ summer reading list, now it’s my turn.

I decided to spend some time in fiction this summer. I know, that’s not different than most summers, but it is different than what I have been reading in general recently so it will be a welcome change of pace.  Perhaps this way, I won’t bore Keith with my obsession over education books. 🙂

The Help by Kathryn Stockett –  I have wanted to read this book ever since it first came out in February of last year.  It tells the story of a white upper class girl and The Help.  It’s supposed to be fantabulous.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – A Young Adult book that has caught my interest.  Two teens battle it out -supposedly to the death.  The premise brought to mind Stephen King’s (writing as Richard Bachman) Long Walk for some reason.

Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier – Abby has to read this for school this summer and I want to read it along with her. “Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again”.

Olive Kitteridge – Elizabeth Strout – I imagine that had I not met Keith, fell in love and found that Jesus fella, I would have turned out like Olive Kitteridge.  So, of course, I need to read about her snarly self. 

Christ The Lord: Out of Egypt by Anne RiceI like all her other stuff, why not this one about Jesus? Should make for an interesting read.

Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane – I love Lehane.  His gritty world rocks mine.  I just wish I had read this before they made it into a movie.

Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs – I must admit to being undecided on this one.  I have a feeling it will make me cry and possible with all the dysfunction bring up unhappy memories, so I wonder if it’s healthy to read it but at the same time, I am fascinated.

Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortensen – I have checked this book out of the library twice and never got the chance to read it. This time, I am determined to read it! Mainly because I want to read his follow-up so bad.

Follow Me to Freedom by Shane Claiborne – I really don’t know why I have put off reading this one. I have had it ever since it first came out and never even picked it up. And I love Shane.  He makes me think and do and question as a Christian. I like that.

Same Kind of Different as Me by Denver Moore and Ron Hall – My mother in law bought me this book well before Christmas.  Knowing the homeless ministry Keith and I have, she assumed we would like the book. I assume she is right, I have just been absorbed in reading about learning styles and curriculum that I haven’t picked up a me book in a long time.

That should do it for now. If you have a recommendation, let me know.  Or just let me know what you are reading. I like to see what others are reading to add to my “to read soon” list if not my “to read this summer” list.

Off to the library’s website to start putting some books on hold…

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 9:47 pm

    I recommend the read aloud handbook, it rocks!

Leave a Reply

