Skip to content

Keep The Sharp Pointy Things Away From Your Ears For A Minute

June 7, 2010

“Keep the sharp pointy things away from your ears for a minute.”

That’s how I prefaced my startling revelation to Keith last night and figured I could do the same for you.  Because I know you all have sharp pointy things heading straight for your ears right at this moment.  So please stop the dangerous course you are on, lest you jab yourself deep in your brain somewhere when I tell you my latest discovery about myself.  You ready?

I don’t think a woman should be president if she has children under 18.

I think if you have chosen to have children, that is your primary job and you should focus on that.  The President of our country should not have to worry about anything other than our country and being a mother definitely comes with it’s share of worries.

Now, that is not to say that I don’t think a woman can’t be President.  If a woman has chosen to not have children, she is not neglecting any primary responsibility, obviously.  And a woman who has already raised her children to adulthood? Well, she has already proven herself worthy in my opinion.

Can you imagine trying to get through a meeting with the Security Advisor and be dwelling on how little Johnny keeps getting into trouble at school because his classmate keeps picking on him?  It was hard enough for me worrying about Abby’s grades when I was trying to run an office, I can’t imagine how much more difficult it would be if I were trying to run a country. 

So there you have it: my newest revelation about myself. I keep learning new things about myself as I get older.  Things that surprise me every day.  I am sure some of you will disagree with me but I have a feeling I am not alone.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 1:58 pm

    What if the husband was a stay at home dad and she wanted to be president?

    • Bibliophile Babe permalink
      June 7, 2010 8:36 pm

      In my opinion, that still wouldn’t be ideal. I think there are certain things a mother can provide that a father cannot (and vice versa, of course) but I think a mother’s first responsibility is to her child, not our country.

Leave a Reply

