Skip to content

“Ah, Summer – What Power You Have to Make Us Suffer and Like It”

June 5, 2010

Summer has officially started.  For us, it started a week ago.  We loaded up the family last Friday and drove out to the mountains of Virginia to visit a waterpark set in the middle of the Massanutten resort.  We returned last night – without any of the children.  All of the children went with their other parents for their vacations to kick off summer.  So Keith and I have a week to celebrate the joy of us get ready for the onset of summer insanity.

This afternoon, I started mapping out my calendar for the next three months.  I needed to see on paper that every Tuesday is the Free Family Film Festival at Rave, every Friday is the Film Festival at the library , that all the Saturday mornings in June are booked already with outreach events and that all the Saturday evenings in July are tentatively booked with Movies in the Park.  Add into that all the things we want to get done over the summer:  I want to work through The Creative Family with the girls once a week,  we are trying to implement a family fitness regime, we have two birthday parties to plan, a self defense course to attend, a bonfire/campout to host, numerous trips to the pool, weekly Family Dinner and Movie Night and, of course, every day learning and fun.

We are, as Katie puts it, “unschooling” for the summer.  We have to work on phonics to catch Em up before fourth grade.  We are starting at the beginning as if she has never been taught phonics.  Tough on her and her esteem but it has to be done.  She has, according to her mother, unlearned everything she has been taught about phonics.  We will also check out Singapore Math.  Both of the girls have been using Math U See but hate it and aren’t making good progress with it.  Em specifically asked for me to work with her on math this summer, so I am trying something a little different to see if this will help.  Then we will be doing some hands on projects (just a couple) related to a few books we are going to read.  I can’t come up with activities for all of the books but so far on our list is:  Fantastic Mr. Fox, Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief, Fancy Nancy books, Jumanji, City of Ember, Series of Unfortunate of Events and… *sigh* … I gave in…Twilight.

Sounds kinda busy to me.

But it won’t be.

The girls will still chant “I’m bored.” “What can I do?” “I’m bored” “There’s nothing to do.” all summer long.  So last night, while Keith had band practice, I came up with a solution.  The Boredom Bucket.  I am using a very pretty decorative canister that Emily gave me for my birthday (it was filled with “Seven Reasons Why You Awesome” and was quite awesome itself) and filling it up with things to do.  Things such as “Go blow bubbles for fifteen minutes.”  “Make a collage.” “Go play in the sprinkler.” “Go make play dough.”  And then the less than thrilling ones like “Go clean the bathroom.” so that they won’t be too keen on saying “I’m bored.” too often.

Do you have ideas to contribute to The Boredom Bucket?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2010 8:03 pm

    You da best babe!! The kids and I are lucky to have you.
    Don’t forget every parents fallback plan: NAP TIME!!!
    We know it’s really for US, but THEY don’t!!

  2. June 6, 2010 5:26 pm

    Oh oh I vote for naptime. I love naptime. How about using a small craft box to go with the bucket? Then you can say go make a necklace and they open the boredom box and the stuff is in there, etc. 🙂

  3. Bibliophile Babe permalink
    June 6, 2010 5:32 pm

    Oh good one Jessi! I think I will have to do that! We have a tote under one of the beds in their room right now that used to be a “Fun With Daddy” box and it was craft supplies and such for a portable fun time with Keith and the girls. I bet I could convert that into The Boredom Box and keep all the supplies that go along with the Bucket!

  4. June 6, 2010 6:14 pm

    Woot! I think that would be super fun, but i am craft dork.

  5. Bibliophile Babe permalink
    June 6, 2010 9:37 pm

    Check out my blog The Creative Family from a few days back. Its really cool for craft dorks.

Leave a Reply

